IPL 2017: A look back at all the previous Indian Premier League title winners

IPL 2017: A look back at all the previous Indian Premier League title winners


The 10th edition of IPL is going is on the way coming closer, starting on 5 April. Let get back to the history of IPL. IPL was started by Lalit Modi where the first match played by KKR against Royal Challengers Bangalore. With the start up of the match, it was proven that IPL T20 going to be full of entertainment cricket match gathering number of audience in the stadium all over the world. From 2008 till 2016 there are six winning teams in IPL.


IPL 2008 – Rajasthan Royals

1. Rajasthan Royals Winner of IPL 2008

The first edition of IPL winning team surprised all. The underdog story of Rajasthan Royals who are never known before the match. But the lead of captain Shane Warne bought up the team to finals and manage to grab the first IPL trophy home defeated Chennai Super Kings at last.

IPL 2009 – Deccan Chargers

2. Deccan Chargers Winner of IPL 2009

In the year 2009, the cricket tournament of IPL was held in South Africa, the reason was General Elections where Indian government deny to commit paramilitary forces. Deccan Charges performed well for a match winning spirit of RP Singh and Rohit Sharma bowling and batting hard respectively. The team lead by Veteran captain Adam Gilchrist finished bottom of the table making for IPL trophy 2009 championship in their favor.

IPL 2010 – Chennai Super Kings

3. Chennai Super Kings Winner of IPL 2010

The team of Chennai Super Kings was known to be the most consistent team in the IPL tournament till now. They played brilliantly reaching the finals and semi final matches played in South Africa. At last in 2010 they bring IPL trophy to home. The team of Chennai Super King played in full form and won the final match against Mumbai Indians, the team playing first time in finals. The wrong move Mumbai Indians that time was sending Harbhajan Singh and Abhishek Nayar bat first than JP Duminy. Although Sachin Tendulkar the skipper of Mumbai Indians got the tagged player of the tournament yet they are unable to win the match against Chennai Super Kings.

4. Chennai Super Kings Winner of IPL 2011

It was more than the big deal that CSK manage to become the second time winner of IPL trophy in 2011. Although with no so good start in the season Chennai Super Kings they manage to win the match. The final match was played against Royal Challengers where if becomes tough for CSK competition with unbeatable players Chris Gayle and the Jamaican blasted but CSK still played brilliantly to anyhow get the winning title back to home.

IPL 2012 – Kolkata Knight Riders

5. Kolkata Knight Riders Winner of IPL 2012

Kolkata Knight Riders were the team to win IPL title in 2012. Played with the outstanding performance they able to beat Chennai Suoer Kings in a final knockout. This tournament for KKR was remarkable where Sunil Narine the bowler was named the man of the series. Also, the big hitting power of Manvinder Bisla and Jacques Kallis was the key factor to winning the title.

IPL 2013 – Mumbai Indians

6. Mumbai Indians Winner of IPL 2013

Mumbai Indians was lead by former Australian player Ricky Ponting in the beginning. The team was not satisfied with his captaincy and there was the constant decrement in playing graph of the player. At last Mumbai Indians come up with the replacement of the captaincy with Rohit Sharma. The new team leads the team with different level. They eventually won IPL 2013 tournament the first time in their history.

IPL 2014 – Kolkata Knight Riders

7. Kolkata Knight Riders Winner of IPL 2014

For general elections in India, the matches of IPL 2014 started in in the UAE. After few matches in UAE, the IPL game returned to India when elections over. Kolkata Knight Riders were one of the teams who once again won the match of IPL. They now also reflects the strongest side of the IPL tournament.

IPL 2015 – Mumbai Indians

8. Mumbai Indians Winner of IPL 2015

In finals of IPL 2015, it was the same situation where Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians are playing final against each other. But this time the results were different. Mumbai Indians take away the title of the tournament on their side. They won the second title. MI decide to bat first setting up score target of 203 runs with brilliant play of Lendl Simmons and captain Rohit Sharma. MS Dhoni the captain of CSK has scored out only with 161 runs giving the game to win for Mumbai Indians. They played well in the tournament winning 8 matches out of 14.

IPL 2016- Sunrisers Hyderabad

9. Sunrisers Hyderabad Winner of IPL 2016

In the last IPL match, there were lot of changes, the team of Rising Pune Supergiants and Gujarat Lions were replaced by Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals. Also, the team of Sunrisers Hyderabad has changed and represented as Deccan Charges. At last Sunrisers Hyderabad celebrate the winning of IPL tournament played against Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final match at Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Post Author: Sumit Goyal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *