IPL Auction 2017: IPL’s most successful captains

IPL’s Most Successful Captains

10. Yuvraj Singh
Teams Kings XI Punjab, Pune Warriors
Matches 43, Wickets 21, Winning % – 59

Yuvraj was in good form playing for XI Punjab and led the team for semi-finals, later on, they won 9 games out of 10. But in the next season due to injuries and absence of Australian stars the team was unable to qualify for semi-finals. Not performing well Yuvraj Singh was replaced with Kumar Sangakkara as captain for the next season.


9. Virat Kohli
Team Royal Challengers Bangalore
Matches 72, Wickets 37, Winning % – 51

Virat Kohli comes up with the captaincy in the year 2012 in absence of Daniel Vettori. Although he lost the match and out of the playoffs on Net Run Rate but the graph of improvement can be seen with subsequent seasons of matches. In the season of 2011 Kholi was the only Royal Challengers player who has continue to hold the captaincy position for longer terms. He able to bring the team in runner-ups in the year 2016 played best of five seasons.

8. Virender Sehwag
Team Delhi Daredevils
Matches 52, Wickets 28, Winning % – 54

Virender Sehwag comes up with his notch captaincy in the year 2008 and 2009. He laid his team for two semi-finals and one pay off that time. During his captaincy, he has played the key role in the development of players like David Warner, who is predicted to be played well in Tests that in T20s.

7. David Warner
Teams Delhi Daredevils, Sunrisers Hyderabad
Matches 33, Wickets 18, Winning % – 55

Although started his captaincy with Delhi Daredevils in two seasons where the team loses both the matches with the finishing of the league phase. The next he was appointed by Sun Rise Hyderabad where he showed his bristling performance getting with the highest score of IPL 2015 season. The next he followed by leading his side and winning the title in the year 2016 for his team.

6. Shane Warne
Team Rajasthan Royals
Matches 55, Wickets 30, Winning % – 56

Holding the position of captaincy for Rajasthan Royal, Shane Warne proved the world that they are lucky for choosing him a right captain. Getting the likes of Chappell and Michael Clarke it becomes impossible to overstate his impact on the play by the opponent team. Also called as the “best captain Australia never had” he led team won in 2008 playing against the greatest superstars. It becomes hard for the cricket legends RavindraJadeja, Swapnil Asnodkar and Kamran Khan to stop him playing good in every match. simultaneously coached. Now also he is closest to IPL taking part in Moneyball moment.

5. Gautam Gambhir
Teams Delhi Daredevils, Kolkata Knight Riders
Matches 107, Wickets 61, Winning % – 57

Gambhir was come up with his led for Delhi Daredevils in absence of Sehwag in the year 2009. That time he was able to take his team to semi-finals in South Africa. He was seen fully as captain in the year 2010, but that time the team narrowly missed the qualifying league. In the next phase, he played for Kolkata Knight Riders replacing Saurav Ganguly. He has taken his batting a few notches higher winning two titles under aggressive performance.

4. Anil Kumble
Team Royal Challengers Bangalore
Matches 26, Wickets 15, Winning % – 58

Anil Kumble comes up as the magic charm in the second season in absence of captain Kevin Pietersen. Royal Challengers were happy and impress with the performance of Anil Kumble when he leads his team for runner-up. It was in this tournament that he also make the 2nd highest record of wicket taker with the economy rate of 5.86. Anil Kumble although having slow start bring back his powerful performance again in a semi-final in 2010, the last match and got retired from IPL.

3. MS Dhoni
Teams Chennai Super Kings, Rising Pune Supergiant
Matches 143, Wickets 83, Winning % – 58

Dhoni is the top among all captain if we talk about consistency and silverware. Played well in all the seasons. He led Super Kings to the final stages, winning the title in two seasons and getting into runner-up four times. Companies with Stephen Fleming created most feared sides in the matches all the opponent irrespective of any conditions.


2. Rohit Sharma
Team Mumbai Indians
Matches 58, Wickets 34, Winning % – 59

Rohit Sharma holds the place of captaincy when Ricky Pointing falls down not performing well in the year 2013. Under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma, the team played for title tag despite giving up the game. They are able to get into playoffs the next season and win the title again in 2015. This was the remarkable season where they won 9 matches out of 10 games to regain the title. Adding to this Sharma also lead his team for Champions League title in 2013.


1. Sachin Tendulkar
Team Mumbai Indians
Matches 51, Wickets 30, Winning % – 59

Sachin Tendulkar proved to be the most successful captain for the teams he played. Although not getting selected in league phase in the first two season still able to led the team to win 19 out of 28 league innings. Sometimes his luck also played the crucial role in his captaincy career. He has come up with bristling performance in IPL 2010 when he collected the outstanding run hitting hard with bat collected with 618 runs from 14 innings. Tendulkar was the moonlight of the season with his team when they able to be runner-up with winning title goes in favor of Chennai Super Kings. In 2011 also Sachin lead his team for Playoffs.


Post Author: Sumit Goyal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *